Harrow Little Lions Kindergarten Zhuhai provides an exceptional learning experience for children aged 2 to 6 years of age. Research shows that this important stage of a child’s development needs high quality provision to fully optimise the potential for learning and development. We ensure each child’s experience fosters and enables the necessary skills and attributes in preparation for a life of service, leadership and responsibility, with a strong cultural identity and heritage.

Our Little Lions Curriculum (LLC) is specifically designed for AISL Harrow Schools and draws from the very best examples and experiences of kindergarten curricula around the world. It specifically incorporates the core Harrow values of courage, humility, fellowship and honour, and adheres to the Guidelines on the Learning and Development of Children aged 3-6 issued by the Ministry of Education of China and other relevant regulations, ensuring that it is mapped to meet the standards. Together with our unique pedagogical approach, we holistically cultivate children’s creative thinking and teamwork ethic and ensure all younger learners achieve rounded and balanced personal development, applying what they learn to their daily lives.

Central to the curriculum are ten Learning Domains and five Learning Disciplines. The learning domains identify the core content that children will require in order to be appropriately informed, knowledgeable, and skilled. The domains ensure that children develop effectively and are able to contextualise and support lifelong learning in conjunction with the associated learning disciplines. The learning disciplines provide content for the essential learning behaviours that enable a perspective within which learning domains will be utilised and applied. This interface between disciplines and domains lies at the heart and aspiration for the AISL Harrow Early Years Curriculum and enables children to both support and develop lifelong learning behaviours as well as understand the nature and purpose of intellectual pursuit (Katz, 2015) and the potential for deep level learning (Saljo, 1979).

The learning domains and learning disciplines are:  

Based on the curriculum framework alongside the guidelines published for Chinese Kindergartens, Harrow Little Lions offers a broad and well-balanced curriculum for children aged 2 to 6. 

  • Pre-K, 2 to 3 years
  • K1, 3 to 4 years
  • K2, 4 to 5 years
  • K3, 5 to 6 years

Our age-appropriate curriculum is designed to encourage children’s learning processes (memory, attention, observation) and cognitive skills (reasoning, comparing, and contrasting, classification), as well as the acquisition of specific information (for example geography, science, environmental impact, digital coding).

It is an aspirational and challenging curriculum that embodies the elements of excellence and values, align to all AISL Harrow early years provision, regardless of context; it provides a challenging, forward-looking, ambitious curriculum that enriches the lives of children and prepares them for their future as well-informed, creative, and responsible citizens equipped for responsible leadership.